Peach Crisp

Standard

I’ll admit right off the bat, I’m not the biggest fan of peaches.  Let’s call it a texture thing.  I have an even bigger issue with bananas (don’t even get me started on that one!)  Strange part is, I love the flavor of these fruits, but you’d be hard pressed to get me to eat either of them in their raw form.  Add them to a muffin, cake, etc. though and you have a deal.  My husband thinks I’m a weirdo with my texture issues, but, hey, not everyone can be perfect, right? 🙂  I used fresh peaches (tis the season) in this recipe, but you can used canned if you really feel the urge.

The recipe can be made in a cast iron skillet, which would have been great…if I owned one…I, myself, opted for a square baking dish in defeat.  Don’t let me forget to a skillet one to my ever-growing baking wish list 🙂

peach crisp

The Recipe:

5 fresh peaches, peeled, pitted, and sliced (or 1 can unsweetened peach slices)

2 tablespoons tapioca

3/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon cloves

2-3 tablespoons white sugar (my addition to the original recipe, it was entirely too tart without it, in my opinion)

3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) butter

2 tablespoons brown sugar

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 1/2 cups quick cooking oatmeal

The Process:

1.  Preheat the oven to 350 F (325 F if using a dark or glass baking pan in shame, like me)

2.  Place the peach slices, sugar, cinnamon, cloves, and tapioca in a bowl.  Gently stir to coat the peaches.  Scrape the peaches into the skillet (or pan…sigh…)

3.  Place the butter in a medium saucepan and place over medium heat.  Heat the butter until it’s mostly melted.  Remove the pan from the heat and transfer to a heatproof surface.

4.  Add the brown sugar to the butter and stir until smooth.  Add the flour, oatmeal, and remaining 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and stir together.  Spoon the topping over the peaches and press it lightly with your hands to even it out.

5.  Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until the top is lightly browned.

6.  Allow to cool slightly before serving.  Makes for a great weekend brunch idea!

Leave a comment